Barbara Mones is a faculty member in the Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering and serves as Principal Lecturer in the Animation Research Labs, an Advanced Technology Initiative at the University of Washington, and Director for the Reality Studio. She has worked in both academic and industry in the areas of graphics and animation production for over twenty-five years. In her role as faculty she has directed and produced fourteen animated shorts since 1999.

Prior to her time at the University of Washington, she was a tenured Associate Professor and the Founding Director of the Visual Information Technologies MA/MFA Program for ten years, a course of study in multimedia, computer graphics, and animation at George Mason University in Fairfax, Virginia. In addition, she designed and implemented training programs in the areas of digital modeling, animation and 3D paint at Dreamworks/Pacific Data Images and Industrial Light and Magic. She also consulted in the area of computer animation training for the Disney company.

Additionally, Barbara worked for the White House and National Aeronautics and Space Administration on Al Gore's GLOBE (Global Learning and Observations to Benefit the Environment) Program, a project with the mission to connect children from over the world through the internet to study satellite imagery and learn about the ecological impact of soil and water use. For this she was presented with a NASA Group Achievement award.

She has lectured extensively on an international level on topics related to computer graphics, animation, and curriculum development in addition to designing and executing her own graphics and animation that have been shown in many museums and institutions worldwide, including the Smithsonian Institution and the Villa Ciani Museum in Switzerland. Her animation has been shown in the SIGGRAPH Electronic Theater and her artwork has been shown in the SIGGRAPH Art Show.

She has chaired Panels (97), Sketches (Design, 96) Art Educators (Education Committee (85-95) served as a juror for the Art Show (1995, 2007) and Electronic Theater. She founded and chaired the SIGGRAPH Student Animation Competition (1984, then became SPACE in 1985) and coordinated it for fifteen years. SPACE became an international traveling show in 1989. Post undergraduate, she studied 2D and 3D animation at Sheridan College and has an MFA from Rhode Island School of Design in mixed media sculpture and installation.

Her research and production interests include animation, storytelling, content development, fast prototyping, facial expression research, and the production pipeline design for games and film.