Huijia (Rachel) Lin

Associate Professor

Paul G. Allen Career Development Professor
Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering
University of Washington

I go by Rachel, but my official name is Huijia Lin, which appears in all my publications and official documents.


  • Email: rachel at cs dot washington dot edu
  • Office: Allen CSE 652


I am interested in exploring all theoretical aspects of cryptography, as well as its intersection with various domains in computer science, such as, complexity theory, algorithm design, learning, and security.

I am a member of the cryptography group, together with Professor Stefano Tessaro and Professor Andrea Coladangelo at UW. I am also a member of the theory group.

See my DBLP page and Google Scholar page for a list of publications.


CSE 426: Introduction to Cryptography (Undergraduate) (Multiple Offering)

CSE 526: Introduction to Cryptography (Graduate) (Multiple Offering)

CSE 599: Lattices and Lattice-based Cryptography (Spring 2022)

CSEP 590: Applied Cryptography (Professional Master Program) (Spring 2023)

CSE 312 Foundations of Computing II (Multiple Offering)


I am grateful to all my wonderful students and postdocs.

Current PhD students:

Champ Chairattana-Apirom, Marian Dietz, Yao Ching Hsieh, Hanjun Li, Chenzhi Zhu
Graduating soon: Ashrujit Ghoshal, Ji Luo

Former PhD students:

Binyi Chen PhD 2019 → Google → Espresso Systems (Chief Cryptographer),
Pratik Soni PhD 2020 → CMU (postdoc) → University of Utah (Assistant Professor)


Tianren Liu Postdoc 2019-21 → Peking University (Assistant Professor)
Marshall Ball Postdoc 2020-21 (CI Fellow) → New York University (Assistant Professor)
Christian Matt Postdoc 2017-18 → Concordium (Senior Researcher)

Scientific Activities

Program Committees: CRYPTO 2017, 2015, 2013. EUROCRYPT 2019. FOCS 2023, 2019. STOC 2022, 2016. TCC 2021, 2020, 2016-B, 2016-A.

Theory of Cryptography Conference (TCC) Steering Committee, 2018-now

SIGSAC Doctoral Dissertation Award Committee, 2022

PI of the Simons Collaboration on the Theory of Algorithmic Fairness, 2020-2024