Rastislav Bodik

Division of Computer Sciences
University of California, Berkeley

Postdocs and staff:

  • Aditya Thakur, researcher, project: Inference Engines for Executable Biology.


  • Shaon Barman, PhD, expected graduation: 2015, topic: Programming by demonstration for web browser users.
  • Ali Sinan Koksal, PhD, expected graduation: 2017, topic: Modeling biology with solver-aided languages, co-advised with Jasmin Fisher, Nir Piterman.
  • Sarah Chasins, PhD, expected graduation: 2018, topic: Web scraping by demonstration, winner of NSF Graduate Research Fellowship; ARCS Fellowship for Graduate Study.
  • Phitchaya (Mangpo) Phothilimthana, PhD, expected graduation: 2018, topic: Synthesis-aided compiler for ultra-low-power manycores, winner of Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship; MSR Fellowship.
  • Eric Atkinson, BS, expected graduation: 2015, topic: Synthesis of parallel layout engines.
  • Rohin Shah, PhD, expected graduation: 2020, topic: Automatic Specialization of Inference Algorithms.
  • Julie Newcomb, PhD, expected graduation: 2020, topic: Creating a DSL to define hints for student homework problems on DFAs, co-advised with Bjoern Hartmann.
  • Chenyang Yuan, BS, expected graduation: 2016, topic: Synthesis Engines.


  • Subbu Sastry, PhD, 2003 (University of Wisconsin), Techniques for Transparent Program Specialization In Dynamic Optimizers, co-advised with Jim Smith.
  • Glenn Ammons, PhD, 2003 (University of Wisconsin), Strauss: A Specification Miner, co-advised with Jim Larus, now at IBM Research.
  • Min Xu, PhD, 2006 (University of Wisconsin), Race Recording for Multithreaded Deterministic Replay Using Multiprocessor Hardware, co-advised with Mark Hill, now at SeaMicro.
  • Brian Fields, PhD, 2006, Using Criticality to Attack Performance Bottlenecks, winner of NSF Fellowship, now at Webroot Software.
  • Manu Sridharan, PhD, 2007, Refinement-Based Program Analysis Tools, winner of Microsoft Fellowship, NDSEG Fellowship, now at IBM Research.
  • A.J. Shankar, PhD, 2007, Complex Program Transformations Via Simple Online Dynamic Analyses, winner of NDSEG Fellowship, now at modista, EasyESI.
  • David Mandelin, MS, 2007, Prospector, now at Mozilla.
  • Armando Solar-Lezama, PhD, 2008, Program Synthesis by Sketching, winner of IBM Fellowship, now at MIT.
  • Liviu Tancau, MS, 2007, JavaSketch, now at Google.
  • Lexin Shan, MS, 2009, SMT-based Sketch Synthesizer.
  • Chris Jones, BS, 2008, Parallel lexical analysis, winner of 2008 CRA Honorable Mention, now at Mozilla.
  • Justin Bonnar, BS, 2009, Attribute grammar scheduler, now at Amazon.
  • Seth Fowler, MS, 2011, Divide-and-Conquer Parsing for Parallelism and Laziness, winner of Qualcomm Fellowship, now at Qualcomm Research Center.
  • Adam Jiang, MS, 2011, Attribute grammar scheduler for parallel layout engines, now at Oracle.
  • James Ide, BS, 2011, A declarative layout and animation language, now at Facebook.
  • Apollo Ellis, BS, 2008, Parallel raytracing, now at UT Austin (grad student); Intel.
  • Gilad Arnold, PhD, 2011, Data-Parallel Language for Correct and Efficient Sparse Matrix Codes, now at Google.
  • Sagar Jain, MS, 2011, Program Synthesis of Parallel Scans, now at Google.
  • Nicholas Tung, BS, 2012, Synthesis for GPUs.
  • Evan Pu, BS, 2011, Synthesis of dynamic programming algorithms, co-advised with Saurabh Srivastava, now at MIT (grad student).
  • Edward Lu, MS, 2013, Synthesis of relational queries, now at Google.
  • Matt Torok, BS, 2013, Superconductor: Data visualization layout on GPU, now at Graphistry.
  • Leo Meyerovich, PhD, 2013, Parallel layout engines and expressing layout semantics, winner of NSF Fellowship, Qualcomm Fellowship, CRA Honorable Mention, now at Graphistry.
  • Joel Galenson, PhD, 2014, CodeHint, co-advised with Koushik Sen, now at Qualcomm BARD.
  • Thibaud Hottelier, PhD, 2014, Mud: declarative layout language with a synthesis-based compiler, now at Graphistry.
  • Saurabh Srivastava, researcher, 2014, Synthesis for synthetic biology, winner of CIFellowship, now at 20n.
  • Emina Torlak, researcher, 2014, Solver-Aided Languages and Symbolic Virtual Machines, now at University of Washington.